Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

COS211X and COS2144

Posted by RobynK 
Announcements Last Post
Announcement SoC Curricula 09/30/2017 01:08PM
Announcement Demarcation or scoping of examinations and assessment 02/13/2017 07:59AM
Announcement School of Computing Short Learning Programmes 11/24/2014 08:37AM
Announcement Unisa contact information 07/28/2011 01:28PM
COS211X and COS2144
June 15, 2010 11:48AM
Hi all

I want to do these 2 subjects together in the second semester. It would lighten my load next year, which is my last year (hopefully).
So, to anyone out there who has done both of them, how difficult would that be? Should I do one first to better understand the subject?
I have no C++ experience, I come from a mainframe background.

Any advice/opinions appreciated.

Thanks.
June 15, 2010 11:55AM
No C++ experience ?? Then how is it possible for you to register for COS 211X in the first place OR am i missing something ?
COS211X has prerequisites of which is the "brother" module COS 112 V (ie. you first have to pass COS 112V )
Am i missing something anyone ??
confused smiley
Re: COS211X and COS2144
June 15, 2010 12:16PM
No C++ experience as in "real" coding experience.
I did do COS112V (a few years ago though). The point I was making was that I'm not all that familiar with OO, seeing as I work with mainframe coding every day. What I want to know is how tough it would be to do these two subjects together, part-time?
June 15, 2010 01:23PM
What language do you use?

The paradigm shift from functional programming to OOP is not that big. If you're an experienced programmer, you'll probably catch on quickly. Have you any other experience with C-family languages? (C, PHP, Java, JavaScript)
June 15, 2010 01:30PM
It all depends on how many semeter modules you are planning to do and the amount of free time you have this semester.
With COS2144 you will use Qt creator and COS211X Dev-C++. If you have limited time I wouldn't do them together,