Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

exam postmortem

Posted by ExtraLarge 
Announcements Last Post
Announcement SoC Curricula 09/30/2017 01:08PM
Announcement Demarcation or scoping of examinations and assessment 02/13/2017 07:59AM
Announcement School of Computing Short Learning Programmes 11/24/2014 08:37AM
Announcement Unisa contact information 07/28/2011 01:28PM
October 12, 2007 10:34PM
the exam felt like a kick in the nutz...unexpected and painful! especialy the long questions, it was just one definition after another...im praying for a supplemantary exam... :\

XL
Re: exam postmortem
October 13, 2007 10:59AM
I studied really hard and think I had a good understanding of the work, but I didn't study the definitions parrot-style. I just hope my definitions based on my own understanding are close enough to what the examiner is looking for!
Sjoe, I'm just glad this one is behind me.
Did any of you know what that Booch guy said about problem-solving? Guess you'd have to be a major geek to know that one! smile
October 13, 2007 12:21PM
I enjoyed the exam and didn't feel it too hard. I didn't study as hard as I could, but I still feel that the exam was reasonabble.

The book they said Booch talked aobut the problem solving was "how to solve it right? or am I remembering wrong?

BECAUSE...its NOT Booch who wrote it! its George Polya
I quote from the textbook: "In his classic book, How to solve it, written before modern computers existed, George Polya outlined the essence of problem solving and consequently the essence of software engineering practice"
October 13, 2007 12:56PM
Hi,

the questions are:

Are we building the software right?
Are we building the right software?

I agree with Kilhra,but used my own wording to answer questions, but am perplexed as to the include-section-on-metrics-in-last-minute/omit-this-section-from-the-exam principle????

Could somebody elaborate on this?
October 14, 2007 01:59PM