Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Why does authors write nonsense and why are we tested on their nonsense?

Posted by jlc 
Announcements Last Post
Announcement SoC Curricula 09/30/2017 01:08PM
Announcement Demarcation or scoping of examinations and assessment 02/13/2017 07:59AM
Announcement School of Computing Short Learning Programmes 11/24/2014 08:37AM
Announcement Unisa contact information 07/28/2011 01:28PM
jlc
Why does authors write nonsense and why are we tested on their nonsense?
March 03, 2011 11:02AM
Dear Unisa Lecturers and Fellow Students

Last year I completed my Bsc.IT (software engineering stream) at Unisa.

Throughout my studies at Unisa I have had various courses with books full
of inaccurate statements and facts - opinions given as facts in books by authors.

I just stumbled upon another example in our prescribed book for IN417-N - on page 115 under 4.7.
The author makes the following statement about open source software:

"...documentation of any kind is extremely rare...."

Open source products are probably the best documented software out there, take for example
the Linux manual pages:

1. Available on every installation by typing "man topic"
2. Available on the Internet in various forms - html, pdf etc.
3. Using any, and I mean any search engine you can find hundreds of sites with documentation about
almost any Linux or open source topic.
4. Further the developers e-mail addresses is often listed on the project sites - you can actually contact them.
5. No closed source project I have seen comes close to this level of documentation.

Now in view of above facts (not opinions), I would like to ask the Unisa lectures the following two questions:

1. Why is there almost never errata in the tutorial letters stating that point x, y and z is wrong in the text book.
2. Why are we asked questions about these false statements in exams and assignments, and then expected to give