Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Exam 2009 Q & A

Posted by CountZero 
Announcements Last Post
Announcement SoC Curricula 09/30/2017 01:08PM
Announcement Demarcation or scoping of examinations and assessment 02/13/2017 07:59AM
Announcement School of Computing Short Learning Programmes 11/24/2014 08:37AM
Announcement Unisa contact information 07/28/2011 01:28PM
September 13, 2010 10:33PM
What we what to do with this thread is work through the 2009 Exam. smoking smiley

So I'll keep the thread up to date with everyone's help.
And please don't assume the answers are correct, I'm also a student..

1.1 Identify and motivate a design pattern that can be used to read such an XML
document and to create appropriate reward objects when the player wishes to continue the game. [2]

Serializer pattern (to isolate the code to read from the file) followed by the AbstractFactory pattern (to create the different types of objects) //See the post from rezrovs

1.2 Identify and motivate a design pattern that can be used to structure these three rewards
in a class hierarchy using the information given in the XML document. Draw a UML diagram with appropriate
classes of this design pattern. [8]

Composite, because we're representing classes that are composed of other classes. Both Reward and TreasureChest
look to be composite objects and Lamp, MagicMat and TreasureChest are components
See post from Kyle

2.1 Explain briefly the function of the FileVisitor and CodeVisitor classes which follow the Visitor pattern.[2]
Given a path to a directory, FileVisitor traverses all the files and subdirectories in that path.
CodeVisitor open each file and searches for “#include” lines of text in each file.

2.2 Rewrite CodeVisitor so that the FileVisitor and CodeVisitor classes are completely
decoupled so that CodeVisitor can exist independently of FileVisitor. [5]

Language: C++