Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Question 5: Abstract factory

Announcements Last Post
Announcement SoC Curricula 09/30/2017 01:08PM
Announcement Demarcation or scoping of examinations and assessment 02/13/2017 07:59AM
Announcement School of Computing Short Learning Programmes 11/24/2014 08:37AM
Announcement Unisa contact information 07/28/2011 01:28PM
Question 5: Abstract factory
June 30, 2010 02:33PM
Ok i've had some experience with the whole factory concept in a second year module(Java), but there is something i'm not sure of. In the assignment they ask to create an Abstrac factory and implement it as a singleton Concrete factory so that two XmlHandlers(/Formatting techniques), or well that is at least how I understand it, can be created. With one handler creating a coma separated file and the other a tab separated file (Question3). Which is all good, but they want the Abstract factory to return a reference to the right formatting technique, and have the 'coma' or 'tab' pasted as parameter to the factory method. So i'm thinking the only way to do that is like so;

Language: C++
class AbstractHandlerFactory { public: virtual QXmlDefautltHandler* newObject(QString aSeperator); virtual ~AbstactFactoy(){} }

with a concrete factory like so;

class XmlHandlerFactory : public AbstractFactory { static XmlHandlerFactory* instance(); virtual QXmlDefautltHandler* newObject(QString aSeperator); }

implemented as so:

XmlHandlerFactory* XmlHandlerFactory::intance(); { //Whole singleton implementation thing }   QXmlDefautltHandler XmlHandlerFactory::newObject(QString aSeprator); { if(aSeperator == "coma") return new ComaHandler(); //Derived from QXmlDefautltHandler if(aSeperator == "tab") return new TabHandler(); //Derived from QXmlDefautltHandler } //Similar to how the textbook did it