Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

BSc ITM - Advice Please

Posted by col 
Announcements Last Post
Announcement SoC Curricula 09/30/2017 01:08PM
Announcement Demarcation or scoping of examinations and assessment 02/13/2017 07:59AM
Announcement School of Computing Short Learning Programmes 11/24/2014 08:37AM
Announcement Unisa contact information 07/28/2011 01:28PM
col
BSc ITM - Advice Please
January 07, 2008 12:00PM
Hi Guys

I am a new student to Unisa and was hoping someone could give me some advice on a few questions I have.

I have been working as a internet programmer (and some desktop) for over 11 years now and have always wanted to get some sort of formal degree behind me (I have none). I am heading the way of becoming an IT Manager, but thought its best to get that all important degree behind me before I make that move.

The BSc IT Management stream (02089-ITM) looks like it fits with my plans and was wondering if anyone else is currently doing that programme?

I am based outside of SA, so the lady I spoke to suggested I take 5 modules per year to ensure that I can keep up with the schedule. However, I would have thought that if I had 11 years programming experience, this may help me cope better with some of the modules. Would it be possible to handle about 6 to 7 modules for the year, considering I have a full time job?
I suppose quite a lot of time is required on assignments too?

How many hours study time per module per week is recommended?

Is the management education offered in this course extendible to other managerial roles, or is it only aimed at IT management?

Lets say I register for 5 modules, but find that I am coping quite well with the course work/assignments, am I able to register for an additional 2 modules later in the year?

What is the best way to get in touch with student advisors for this programme?

I hope to hear from you soon and really appreciate your help and advice.
Regards,
Col
avatar Re: BSc ITM - Advice Please